Posted in | News

Energy efficiency: Canadians honoured

The best and brightest advances in energy efficiency across the country were honoured today.

Marlene Catterall, Member of Parliament for Ottawa West-Nepean, presented this year's winners of Canada's Energy Efficiency Awards during a ceremony in Ottawa. She presented the awards on behalf of the Honourable R. John Efford, Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

The annual awards recognize Canadian businesses, industry, institutions, governments, communities and individuals, and raise awareness that energy efficiency is a key part of Canada's response to climate change.

"The Government of Canada is committed to building a cleaner future in Canada and finding new and better ways to save energy," said Ms. Catterall. "These winners possess exactly the kind of Canadian expertise and imagination we will need to achieve those goals and continue to lead in innovative energy-efficiency practices and technologies."

The 14 winners and 14 honourable mentions successfully implemented energy-efficiency measures that together resulted in reductions of thousands of tonnes of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and energy savings of hundreds of thousands of dollars. The winning projects are profiled in special awards supplements in both Time Canada and Affaires Plus. Energy efficiency reduces the GHG emissions that contribute to climate change.

Canada is a world leader in many aspects of energy efficiency, and the awards program celebrates and publicizes the country's successes.

The 2005 winners and their projects are as follows:

  • CBC Radio, Ideas, Toronto, Ontario - Fueling the Future: The Soft Path;
  • The City of North Vancouver, British Columbia - Lonsdale Energy Corporation;
  • ConocoPhillips Canada, Calgary, Alberta - Empress CO2 extraction plant;
  • Dessau-Soprin, Longueuil, Quebec - École du Tournant; Encelium Technologies Inc., Markham, Ontario - Encelium energy control system;
  • F&P Manufacturing, Inc., Tottenham, Ontario - F&P Green Team;
  • Forintek Canada Corp., Vancouver, British Columbia - Veneer drying technology;
  • H2OMES, Cobourg, Ontario - "Unter den Birken" sustainable dwelling;
  • Beverley and David Halisky, St. Albert, Alberta - The Bertha Kennedy Home;
  • MintoUrban Communities Inc., Toronto, Ontario - Thinking Green…Living Greener;
  • Nexans Canada Inc., Montréal, Quebec - Mechanical vapour compression applied to acid concentration at Nexans;
  • School District No. 38, Richmond, British Columbia - School District No. 38 (Richmond) Energy Management Initiative;
  • Unilever Canada, Rexdale, Ontario - "The Watt Watchers";
  • Virescens (Passion for Action) Inc., Surrey, British Columbia - Passion for Action Sustainability Suitcase and One-Tonne Climate Change Challenge.

Canada's Energy Efficiency Awards are managed by the Office of Energy Efficiency of Natural Resources Canada. Summaries of the winning projects are available on the awards program Web site at The Government of Canada's approach to climate change is focused on making the right choices for Canada. This will ensure that the actions taken contribute to the long-term goals of building a sustainable economy for the 21st century, a healthier environment and strong communities, while affirming Canada's place in the world.

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type