Posted in | News

BIA Announces Winners of 2012 Brick in Architecture Award

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has recognized outstanding design incorporating original clay brick for both sustainability and aesthetics.

Atlantic Wharf, Boston, Massachusetts

The 2012 Brick in Architecture Award winning projects, offering architects a wide palette of colors, shapes and textures for interior and exterior expression, spans 28 states and the categories include commercial, multifamily, single family residential, health care, educational, municipal/government, houses of worship and paving and landscape architecture.

Gregg Borchelt, P.E., President and CEO of BIA, said that there is no replacement for genuine clay brick, and bricks fired from real clay, unlike fabricated masonry products, offer lasting, through-body color, natural beauty and proven performance.

Bricks also offer great freedom to suit the desires and imaginations of architects and are vital components of sustainable design. Atlantic Wharf, in Boston, Massachusetts, is the Best in Class winner in the commercial category. The 1,200,000-square-foot mixed use complex incorporated both new and existing brick types for offices and residences. It is the first LEED Certified Platinum tower in Boston.

The Point, the new residence for North Carolina State University's chancellor, won the Best in Class award in the residential single family category. North Carolina Statue University, headed by Marvin Malecha, designed the 5,400-square-foot residence. The sustainable materials chosen for the residence include genuine clay brick, geothermal heating and cooling and solar panels.

The annual awards program of BIA was started in 1989 and entries are accepted from all over North America. Judges for this year’s awards program include Jack LaQuatra of LaQuatra Bonci Associates; Steven Ansel of the S/L/A/M Collaborative; Sean Stadler of WDG Architecture; and Nicholas Papaefthimiou of ZGF Architects.



Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Gilbert, Nick. (2019, February 21). BIA Announces Winners of 2012 Brick in Architecture Award. AZoBuild. Retrieved on April 12, 2024 from

  • MLA

    Gilbert, Nick. "BIA Announces Winners of 2012 Brick in Architecture Award". AZoBuild. 12 April 2024. <>.

  • Chicago

    Gilbert, Nick. "BIA Announces Winners of 2012 Brick in Architecture Award". AZoBuild. (accessed April 12, 2024).

  • Harvard

    Gilbert, Nick. 2019. BIA Announces Winners of 2012 Brick in Architecture Award. AZoBuild, viewed 12 April 2024,

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.