Hughes Hall, the earlier housing structure at Fordham University, which is now being made home to The Gabelli School of Business, is getting its exteriors redone with stone work by Petrillo Stone.
The hall was initially built in 1891 and got its name in homage to the founder of Fordham University, Archbishop John Hughes, and is still an important structure of the Rose Hill premises.
As part of the renovation, mountain white marble will adorn the steps, handicap ramps, and risers and be the accent stone that traverses around the building. The old Manhattan schist used as the coping stone above the wall will be replaced with new Atlantic black granite. Tishman Interiors is overseeing the extensive renovation of the hall covering 50,000 sq. ft.
According to Ralph Petrillo, the current co-owner of Petrillo Stone, the idea was to make the 100-year old monument as good as new for a long time to come. The renovation will be executed keeping in mind the original design and architecture, strengthening it for the coming 100 years or more. The venture is expected to be finished by the end of summer.
The enduring relationship between Fordham University and Petrillo Stone goes way back to 1935 when Antonio Petrillo, the pioneer of Petrillo Stone, along with his son, John, laid the stone for Keating Hall of Fordham University, which is still an important feature of the university.
Petrillo Stone has been dealing in fabricating, fixing and providing stonework for interiors and exteriors of many historical monuments of the tri-state area for more than 100 years.
Source: Petrillo Stone